In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Home, Sweet Home July 13, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 4:20 PM

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” ‭‭(Romans‬ ‭8:28‬)
I was released from the hospital Tuesday afternoon, and now am back home, sweet home with my family! Thank you to all who have been praying once again as I was in the hospital for the blood clots they found in my lungs a week ago Tuesday. It is such an encouragement each time I hear you are praying for me.

Medical Update

It was not our plan for me to stay in the hospital for a whole week, but it was God’s plan. I got to meet many wonderful health care professionals that were able to help me in so many ways! I was able to do physical therapy nearly everyday while in the hospital. Now I can walk again with the help of a 2-wheeled walker! I still need help to stand up, but then can support my weight and walk for short distances. This has helped my strength increase everyday too. Praise the Lord for increased muscle power!

I was also able to complete all the shots of medication to begin thinning my blood. Now I can just take a pill everyday to keep my blood thin, so my clots don’t grow. Now we wait for my body to dissolve the clots, which could take 2-3 weeks for all the clots to start dissolving. The doctors also said it could take up to 3 months for all the clots to be dissolved completely.

It is difficult for me to breath deeply with the clots I have in my lungs, so I cough and get short of breath easily. They had to send me home from the hospital with oxygen, so we are adjusting to this new obstacle in my daily routine. Hopefully, I won’t have to be on oxygen too long.

Move to Ohio

We are getting very close to our move date of July 23rd! All the needed inspections and paperwork are getting done. Our house is getting more and more packed up. We are hoping to pack most of the rest of our things up this Saturday. We are so thankful for those that have stopped by or taken a day to come out and help us pack boxes. It has been such a great help in getting us ready for the move!

As we look back on my time in the hospital, and even my time in dealing with these brain tumors since the beginning of May, we can see how God has been working. We have been able to share with so many how God is the source of our strength as we face these various challenges. When I am weak, He is strong! Eric and I have grown in our faith in trusting that God is causing “all things to work together for good.” We have seen so many things with my recent medical challenges, selling our house, and buying our house in Ohio that can only be because of God’s perfect timing and plan. And I know there are many more ways God is at work that we may never know about till we get to heaven.

Thank you again for your continued prayers as I get rid of these blood clots and we prepare for our big move to Ohio. We could not do this without all of your prayers and support! God is good all the time!

 

3 Responses to “Home, Sweet Home”

  1. I’ve been out of the loop for a while. I didn’t know about so much of what you’ve been battling in the recent months, and I’m so very sorry. My family prays often for you, and yours. We all miss you very much. You remain the most amazing woman I’ve ever known, my friend. You’ve always been such an encouragement to me… all the way back to 2000, when we first met. (Can you believe we’ve known one another for so long!?!)

    I love you, Amy. Keep doing what you do best!

  2. I will pray for you and your family.


Leave a Reply

