In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

A Fond Farewell & A Wonderful Welcome August 2, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 7:05 AM

“I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now.” (Philippians 1:3-5) 

          
How do you say goodbye after 8+ years? Living life together each day. Celebrating milestones and accomplishments. Hurting together through trials and hard times. Just hanging out to de-stress when life gets crazy. These are the ways we love and support each other as we live life together.

We have loved living life together in the Bennington community. We have met amazing people that we will never forget and that will be forever friends, no matter the miles between us. It always amazes me to stop and think about how so many have come together to support us through our trials and rejoice with us in our blessings. God orchestrated each individual person to come into our lives at the perfect time. He used each of these people to meet a need we would have on our journey. Be it a meal maker. A gift giver. A card writer. A word of encouragement speaker. A prayer warrior. A childcare provider. A house cleaner. A laundry washer. An ear lender. A time giver. And so much more. God has provided our every need through all of you! What an amazing community to live in! Thank you to each of you for your part in blessing our time in Bennington!

We are sad to leave all of you, but we know God is calling us to Ohio and He will again provide for all our needs. You may have a different role now, due to the miles that separate us. God has already blessed us with many friends here in Ohio between our Baptist Church Planters Family and our new church family and dear friends that live here in Ohio. And we trust He will bring other new friends along to live life with us in our new community. We are so thankful for a Loving and Sovereign God who holds the future in His hand. We can trust Him to be faithful to complete His work in and through us as we follow His leading!

Move Complete!

Moving 796 miles is a whirlwind of packing, paperwork, and planning! We had a ‘packing boxes’ Saturday. We had a ‘packing the moving truck in Bennington’ Saturday. And we had an ‘unpacking the moving truck in Ohio’ Saturday. In between those Saturdays, we had inspections and paperwork for both houses, finalizing financing for the house, calls to make switching over utilities, finding new house and car insurance, finding a new medical team, and switching over health insurance. And we were thankful God supplied times to see wonderful friends one last time before the move! We were sad to miss that last goodbye with some of you, but we are thankful there are so many ways to keep in touch now despite the miles that separate us. Our home is always open for visitors, so trek on over to Ohio and see us! 😉

We are thankful for safety and an uneventful trip for our family and all of our belongings from Nebraska to Iowa and then to Ohio. It was a loooong day of travel leaving at 7:30am and arriving at 11:30pm, but our caravan of 4 vehicles didn’t have any issues or problems other than traffic and lots of road construction to maneuver. The kids traveled wonderfully (and the seven adults did too. 😉 ) I know many were praying especially for that day. Praise the Lord for answered prayer! 

We had an amazing group pack us up and send us off as well as greet us here and unpack us. Thank you to all who shared in the work of moving us! It seems surreal that we are now here and settling into our beautiful new home. God has richly blessed us with amazing people to live life with and a truly beautiful home that meets our family’s needs.

Medical Update

Praise the Lord I have finished weaning off my steroids now! I do not miss the side effects those have brought and am thankful to be able to sleep more than 2-4 hours a night! 

I have had some physical challenges to navigate since my hospital stay. I continue to need oxygen while I recover from my blood clots in my lungs. I have an oxygen machine while I’m at home, but we have to deal with oxygen tanks whenever we go anywhere, including on the trip from Nebraska to Iowa to Ohio. This takes some extra planning so I don’t run out of oxygen, as well as some new obstacles to getting around attached to an oxygen tank.

I continue to get stronger each day. I can walk further and even get up on my own from taller chairs. All three of my boys enjoy doing my exercises with me each day that the physical therapist gave me to build up my strength. And Asher loves to announce to everyone “Mommy’s coming through,” whenever I am up and on the move. 🙂 Continue to pray for increased strength and the blood clots to completely dissolve, allowing me to breath normally again.

Pray for us this week as we begin to meet my new medical team and determine my future course of cancer treatment with those at the Cleveland Clinic. Pray the doctors and staff will have wisdom as they review my extensive case history of my 5+ years battling this cancer. Pray that we will be able to clearly recall and explain things as we discuss my case and our treatment plan going forward with many new medical staff. Pray also that we will glorify God and be His light to those we meet as we settle in and live life in our new community.

 

3 Responses to “A Fond Farewell & A Wonderful Welcome”

  1. Regina Meradith Says:

    Good to hear about your journey! I’m glad Ohio is being good to you and your family. I will be praying for your medical team and that you can gain your strength back quickly. I also pray I can seek God in everything like you do. You are a wonderful example to all Amy!

  2. Micsch Says:

    Please stay in touch and know that I pray for all of you!

    >

  3. Kathy Wilson Says:

    Amy
    I am so glad the traveling amd move went smoothly. When you write I feel the presence of God , thank you for sharing your walk, your devotion, your inner strength. God is truly glorified through your words and your life. May your shining light draw others to him in Ohio.
    Just to dhare,,I was born in Akron Ohio, we lived in Stowe, and Canton. Not so long ago I went to Clevend with Kristina to see Neil Diamond
    When you feel better vheck out the rock n roll Hall of Fame, very interesting.
    Take care and God Bless


Leave a Reply

