In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Cancer Spreading August 12, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 2:40 PM

This is what the Lord says— he who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” ‭‭(Isaiah‬ ‭43:16, 18-19‬)

Thank you all for your continued prayers as we settle in from the move and work with our new medical team at the Cleveland Clinic. A lot has happened medically in the almost 2 weeks we have been here:

Week 1 in Ohio
My first appointment was with my new oncologist on Tuesday. After discussing the history of my case, my oncologist wanted us to see a radiation oncologist, the only one who does a specialized radiation treatment. He normally only works in the main downtown location. After calling to set up an appointment, he came back and said we were really lucky and he happened to be covering for another doctor today only in our location and had time to see me right now. Well, we know God is in control and things don’t just happen by luck. It was so neat to see how God worked out these details for us at our very first appointment! We met with him and discussed my case and his specialized treatment. He also wanted to take my case before a committee of doctors back at the main campus to get their recommendation for a course of treatment. We were excited for the opportunity to have more eyes on my case, especially some of the top oncologists in the country!

Before leaving Omaha, I had one last appointment with my pulmonologist. He did an x-ray and found I had some fluid on my lung. He wanted to make sure I followed up as soon as I got to Ohio, so my oncologist here also sent me downstairs for another x-ray that same day. (We had quite the first day meeting people from all the departments!) The x-ray showed even more fluid on my lung, so he scheduled me for a thoracentesis to drain the fluid and a CT Scan on Friday. They drained 1/2 liter of fluid and sent it to the lab for testing.

Week 2 in Ohio
This week, we met with my oncologist to find out the results. The fluid drained from my lung did indeed test positive for cancer cells and the scan shows some suspicious spots in my lung. So the cancer has now spread to my lung. This rules out the option for the special radiation treatment we were looking at doing. The committee of doctors was able to review my case before my appointment and recommended we do a clinical trial. My oncologist told us there were many treatments that have worked well and are approved for other types of cancer and are now being tested for breast cancer.

If I am approved for a clinical trial, I will begin treatment right away down at the main campus in Cleveland. That will be a nearly 40 minute drive or more depending on traffic in Cleveland.

In order to get into a clinical trial, they still needed the MRI of my brain to followup on the results of the Gamma Knife procedure I had done to treat my brain tumors in May. I was scheduled for one next week, but as we can already see growth in the cancer spots on my chest and back, we want to get treatment started as soon as possible. Praise the Lord, the nurse began calling around and was able to get me in that afternoon at another location. So off we went to get the MRI done.

Now we wait for the call to see if we qualify for a clinical trial that would be a good fit for my case and when we can begin treatment. Please pray for wisdom for those involved. All the doctors and medical staff at the Cleveland Clinic have been excellent to work with. It is wonderful to know that some of the best doctors in the country are working on my case! 

We know God has orchestrated so many details to bring us here at this time to this team of doctors to fulfill His will in our lives. I recently read Isaiah 43 in my study of God’s Word. As I heard the news that my cancer has spread to my lungs, God brought the words from that chapter back to me:

This is what the Lord says— he who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” (Isaiah‬ ‭43:16, 18-19‬)

We can look back and see so many miracles God has performed and so many lives that have been touched and changed throughout my cancer journey. God has been faithful every step of the way! But this passage in Isaiah says not to dwell in the past. God is at work right now! He is doing a new thing! We can trust He is making a way for us now. Aren’t you excited to see how He will work?

 

6 Responses to “Cancer Spreading”

  1. Sharon Sparks Says:

    Hi Eric and Amy. Amy you always have a smile on your face in your pictures and they look random, not posed. You show so much hope and joy in your heart in these stories. I am discouraged about small things – epilepsy, arthritis, depression. I am encouraged by your faith, both you and Eric. God bless you.

  2. Michelle Kazor Says:

    Continued thoughts and prayers to you, Amy

  3. Rhonda Martin Says:

    Praying for you now.

  4. Tami Says:

    We continue to pray for you

  5. Amy Cheek Says:

    Amy, just so you know, I updated our small group tonight with your latest posting of doctor visits. We are praying for you & a complete healing in Jesus name, as well as a deepened level of intimacy with Him. Take care my friend.

  6. Micsch Says:

    I love your faith!

    >


Leave a Reply

