In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

What’s the Next Step? August 19, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:01 PM

“But now, this is what the Lord says— he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” ‭‭(Isaiah‬ ‭43:1-2)

    
We got the call today from the research nurse that is looking for clinical trials for me. She said there are currently no trials at the Cleveland Clinic or in the area that I qualify for, but she will keep looking for me. She told us some things that disqualify me from some trials are my current mobility issues, my need for oxygen, and that I have had so many types of chemo already.
So we meet with my oncologist again on Monday to further discuss the chemo options I have here. The three oncologists we have met have all mentioned at least a couple chemo drugs I have not tried yet. We are hopeful I can start treatment right away and it will be effective against my cancer. Will you pray with us that this can be accomplished?

Since my last update, my breathing has gotten more difficult again. A new x-ray showed fluid on both my lungs this time, not just the right side. I had the fluid drained again on the right side-800mL. I am scheduled to have the left side drained on Tuesday afternoon. Every time they drain fluid, I have to be off my blood thinners for 48 hours before the thoracentesis procedure can be done. Pray that blood clots don’t become an issue again.

With so many things not going as we had planned, it is easy to get overwhelmed. When it is a struggle just to breath at times, it’s hard to keep our focus where it needs to be. But God knows what I am going through and is faithfully there at each new twist and turn. I am so thankful we can go back to God’s Word and read His promises:

“But now, this is what the Lord says— he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” (‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭43:1-2)

God is my Creator and He has redeemed me. He promises to be with me as I pass through the waters in this life. I don’t have to be overwhelmed when I keep my eyes focused on Him. Pray that we can all keep our focus on the Lord as we walk the path before us, especially Eric and I and our kiddos Faith, Adam, Ethan, and Asher. Thank you for faithfully taking us to the Lord in prayer. It is such a comfort to know so many are praying!

 

4 Responses to “What’s the Next Step?”

  1. Amy Cheek Says:

    Lord may your anointed healing fall on my dear friend Amy. Keep her eyes sharp & constantly on You Abba Father and the plan you have for her & her family. God bless you all!

  2. Pamela Says:

    Truly the Lord has used your post to redirect me from my self loathing and constant battle with uncertainty. I am a mother and wife battling colon cancer and so far I have come no where near your struggle. However, I often feel simply tired of all the ups and downs and I just want to rest already! It’s in these moments I’ve opened my email and found your beautiful spirit of trust speaking directly to me and I am reminded that “Those who put their trust in Him will never be disappointed.” Thank you for pouring yourself out for those of us who need a gentle push. Your life is surely a beautiful aroma before Him. Thank you, praying always,
    Pamela

  3. Janice Fenton Says:

    I believe you will know when God puts a period at the end of your sentence. Praying for you and your family!

  4. Rhonda Martin Says:

    Praying for health and healing. I pray that you and your family are strong and doing well.


Leave a Reply

