In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Another Twist in the Road August 24, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 4:03 PM

When I thought, “My foot slips,” your steadfast love, O Lord, held me up. When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul.” (Psalm 94:18-19)   

It seems every time we are ready to start some treatment for my cancer, an obstacle pops up and delays it. Such was the case again on Monday when we met with my oncologist. He was looking over my heart echo results and saw there is a significant amount of fluid around my heart. So we met with a thoracic surgeon on Tuesday. He agreed we should drain that fluid around the heart. So I am scheduled for some scans and tests tomorrow to determine how the fluid is looking currently. Then on Friday afternoon I will have a procedure done to drain the fluid around my heart into the lung and then put a drain in my lung. This will allow us to keep draining the fluid that keeps accumulating on my lung without having a tap every time. He said he can also put a drain on the other lung if it looks like it needs it from the scans. I will be admitted to the hospital for observation and to get my blood thinners going again as soon as possible. I have to be off them for five days before the procedure, so pray that no blood clots form in this time. If all goes according to the plan, I should be released Sunday afternoon.

Hopefully this procedure will alleviate the breathing problems I am having. Right now, any activity, even just sitting up from lying down, will make my oxygen levels drop and I become short of breath.

We are also praying we can start chemo next week and begin fighting the cancer back again.

The Lord has truly been my refuge and strength these days. He is teaching me to rest in Him and call out to Him when I need the strength just to breath. I thought these verses were very fitting with my current “heart” condition:

When I thought, “My foot slips,” your steadfast love, O Lord, held me up. When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul.” (Psalm 94:18-19)

I am so thankful the Lord holds me up in my time of need.

Thank you again for praying with us on this journey. We know there is amazing power through God’s people praying! We are so thankful for each you.

 

5 Responses to “Another Twist in the Road”

  1. Cousin and more important “sister” Amy, I just got up from praying for you on my knees.

  2. nannykramer Says:

    I am praying for you and your family, Amy.

    The twins I nanny are totally in love with your mom’s horse, Emmie. Now she also has Maverick there and they think it is fantastic to have TWO horses to see on our walks.

    I made this meme yesterday with the backdrop being a photo I took this summer at my parents. Since it was your verse in this post, I thought you might enjoy it.

    On Wednesday, August 24, 2016, In Christ Alone: My Journey through Breast Cancer wrote:

    > awilmeth posted: “”When I thought, “My foot slips,” your steadfast love, O > Lord, held me up. When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations > cheer my soul.” (Psalm 94:18-19) It seems every time we are ready to > start some treatment for my cancer, an obs” >

  3. Lisa Flaxbeard Says:

    Thanking God for you and praying for your continued strength and courage. God’s peace and blessings be with you and your family. Miss you and love you.

  4. Carla Lockridge Says:

    We have been and will keep praying for you and your family – specifically today as you are in the hospital for your procedure – praying for God to give you His strength and peace! Love in Christ, Jerry and Carla Lockridge

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Ginger Says:

    I am with you every day, Amy! Be strong!


Leave a Reply

