In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

A Go for Chemo September 9, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:51 PM

When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. — Psalm 34:17   

Medical Update

Thursday, August 18th, I went in for my pre-op tests: an EKG, a CT Scan, and an ECHO of my heart. I was having a very difficult time breathing and talking would end up with a lot of coughing. After these tests I met with my surgeon. The technician that did the ECHO called my surgeon to let him know what he saw right away. There was so much fluid around my heart they wanted me admitted to the hospital to drain it right away. It couldn’t wait until the morning. So we went through the ER to admit me and get me into a procedure room to drain that fluid. The next morning, I went into surgery to put a window from my heart to my lung to continue draining that fluid. Then they put a Pleurex catheter in to drain the fluid from my lung. I ended up staying in the hospital until Tuesday to make sure all was going well with using the catheter to drain the fluid. Eric then took over as my nurse at home, draining my catheter and making sure I took all my meds on time. A home health nurse also comes 1-2x per week to check me over and make sure we have everything we need.

With all the roadblocks taken care of, on Wednesday, August 31st, I finally received my first  3-week dose of the chemo Ixempra. It has hit me hard and I have been pretty well down with major chemo fatigue and multiple side effects for the past week. We are praying that it is hitting the cancer hard too and fighting it back! Thank you for all your prayers! I don’t know how I would’ve made it without them.

My next chemo treatment will be September 21st.  

Many Blessings

While the medical side of things has kept us very busy, we have been so thankful for our wonderful First Baptist Church of Brunswick family and Baptist Church Planters family coming around us here to be God’s hands and feet to us. They have provided delicious meals and food, watched the kids while we go to appointments, cleaned the house, done laundry, mowed the yard, and more. As the apostle Paul, we can say we are thankful upon every remembrance of you!

Also, Eric’s three sisters made the road trip out here from Iowa for Labor Day weekend. They definitely labored around our house to make it feel more like home for us. They organized the kids’ bedrooms, unpacked more boxes, hung wall decor and curtains, and made over 30 freezer meals for us! (Friends out here provided us with a freezer to put all those meals into as well!) What a blessing! Thanks to them and all the other family and friends that contributed to the food and projects around the house. We are once again overwhelmed by your love and support in our time of need!

Thank you again for your continued prayers! They truly sustain us through the hard times. I am so thankful the Lord hears and answers our cries for help.

“When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles.” — Psalm 34:17 

 

3 Responses to “A Go for Chemo”

  1. Becca VanDam Says:

    Our prayers continue to be with you all! I’m so thankful the Lord keeps placing wonderful people along your path! Its amazing to hear how well cared for all of you! God is good!

  2. Rhonda Martin Says:

    Praying for you.

  3. Micsch Says:

    Dear Amy,

    Thank you so much for the update and how truly blessed you are for all the help you have received!

    >


Leave a Reply

