In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Help Comes When Needed September 22, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 8:33 AM

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:1-2)

Thank you for continuing to follow us on our cancer journey. We are so thankful for each of your prayers and support as we continue to settle in here in Ohio as a family and with our medical team. We have loved our community and schools so far. The kids are making friends and like the schools here. They still miss their friends back in Nebraska and have enjoyed receiving cards and letters and communicating through technology. Our church family and BCP family continue to support us in many ways. My mom was able to come out this week to help out around the house and stay with me so Eric can begin working more regular hours in the office. He has his office all set up now and is excited to start on many projects that will help with church planting across the United States!

Medical Update

Chemo Round #2 was yesterday. We spent most of the day seeing the doctor and then receiving my chemo treatment. The side effects should be hitting me in the next day or two, so I really covet your prayers for that time. Knowing what side effects I had last time helps us be more prepared this time. Also, I’m not just coming out of surgery and a hospital stay this time, so hopefully my body can tolerate the chemo better this time.

The oncologist told us we will do scans after my 3rd round to see how the chemo is fighting the cancer. The spots on my back and on my chest that we can feel have stopped growing! So we are praying the cancer in my lungs is also responding.

I am able to breath much better since my procedure to put the window from my heart to my lung and the Pleurex catheter from my right lung to drain the fluid out. We are still draining 300-400mL of fluid off every other day from the drain. The doctor says I need to drink plenty of fluids to make sure I don’t become dehydrated. I do still struggle with my breathing any time I do any activity. I have to turn up my oxygen. At rest I do very well! I used to have trouble keeping my oxygen saturation levels up just sitting, so I am progressing. 🙂

Thank you again for all your continued prayers and support. We love receiving messages, texts, cards, and calls letting us know you are lifting us up to our amazing Lord and Savior through this time of trial. He continues to provide the help and strength we need each day!

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:1-2)

 

4 Responses to “Help Comes When Needed”

  1. Micsch Says:

    Dearest Amy,

    I have been and will continue to offer prayer on your behalf. I have been struggling to breath this year as well,so I understand the ups and down in your treatment

    Thrilled to hear tat the kids andEric are adjusting ok to your new environment

    >

    • Ken & Joyce Miller Says:

      Dear Amy and Eric,
      Thanks for such honest updates about how you are doing. We are glad that you are getting used to your new surroundings and that the children are doing well at their new school. Moving has its own set of adjustments without all the medical issues that you have. We have been praying for you at home and at church and will continue to do so. So glad Christian friends from church and BCP and your family have been able to help. In Christian Love, Ken & Joyce Miller, BCP, Hamlin, NY

  2. I just want to let you know that I am praying for you and your family and will continue to do so. I am your mother-in_law’s house cleaner so I usually get updates from her when I’m there. You are such an inspiration and I pray for your continued peace and healing. Glad to hear that breathing is getting a little easier.

  3. brenda cupps Says:

    Dear Amy,
    I have followed you and your families journey from the beginning,and just wanted to say Thank-You! Your journey has touch so many areas of my life. Nobody knows how many life’s they have touched and changed but, I have to say You through Your journey and Your Love for the Lord Jesus Christ has changed mine deeply! I Hope and Pray that all is Well.
    Take Care and Thank-You again for sharing Your Personnel Relationship with the Lord.
    In Christ Love, Brenda


Leave a Reply

