In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Cancer Spreading November 3, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:27 PM

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.” (Psalm 121:1-3)

Once again, we thank you all for continuing on this cancer journey with us and covet your continued prayers as we embark on the next steps.

I had scans again after the third round of my new chemo and received the results this week. The good news first: the two tumors that were Gamma Knifed back in May continue to shrink, the spots in my lungs show marked improvement, and the fluid output from my right lung continues to decrease.

The rest is not good news. There is fluid increase in my left lung and a drain is going to be put in, so I then will have a drain on both sides. A new lesion has shown up in my brain. We will meet with a neurosurgeon next Wednesday to schedule another Gamma Knife procedure as soon as possible. New cancer spots have also shown up on my spine, liver, and both hip bones. Two spots in each of those. So while my current chemo has seemed to work well in my lungs, the cancer has continued to spread in other areas. This means we have to switch my chemo again already. There are fewer than few options they have because I have had so many different chemos already.

I love and whole-heartedly agree with the words my wonderful husband Eric wrote concerning our current situation:

“We don’t know what tomorrow holds, but we have hope in tomorrow because of our great God who loves us, has saved us despite our sin, and who promises to never leave or forsake us. To leave this life is to be present with our Creator and our King.

No matter the news, God IS Good!”

I am so thankful I have trusted Christ as my Savior and know I will go to heaven when I leave this life! This promise of eternal life with my Lord and Savior gives me hope for tomorrow! Do you have that absolute assurance today? If not, don’t put off making the decision to trust Christ as your Savior today.

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord is your keeper; the Lord is your shade on your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The Lord will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.” (Psalms‬ ‭121:1-8‬ ‭ESV‬‬)

 

13 Responses to “Cancer Spreading”

  1. Jennel Clarke Says:

    I’m praying for you with all my ❤ and for your family.

  2. Dorothy vance Says:

    Love you and praying for you and your family. Thanks for your testimony.

  3. Shirley Luark Says:

    Praying for you! 💞

  4. Pamela Hernandez Says:

    I know His goodness will guide your decisions Amy. Even in great disappointments His peace remains.
    You can rely on His love no matter what. Praying always

  5. McCormick Family Says:

    Our family is praying for you and the family.

  6. Micsch Says:

    I am so sorry to read the news that the cancer has spread but so joyous to know that I will see you again

    >

  7. Brian Cupps Says:

    Amy and family.
    My wife Brenda and I are proud to be a brother and sister in Christ with you!

    You and your family have been in our prayers daily for years, and will always be so. Thank you for testimony that will last forever.
    May the Peace of God fill your souls, and His abundant Grace carry you.
    PSALM 62.5

  8. Judi Says:

    Yes I totally agree. You have been fortunate to have been given the strength and love of our Lord Jesus and with that whatever comes next will be his will. It’s hard to understand but the trust in his great love for us gives the the hope of everlasting salvation and healing whether you are staying here or going there. You are always in my thoughts and prayers Amy and all not D your family

  9. Kathy Says:

    Amy you and Eric are true disciples of the word and your life is a shining light in the darkness. Every time I read your blog I know I am hearing the glorious message of what lies.ahead when I leave this earthly body and my faith is strengthed.
    Praying for you all.

  10. Rhonda Martin Says:

    Your faith inspires me. Thank you for keeping us informed and for your testimony. I continue to pray for you all.

  11. Penny Trupiano Says:

    Bless you Amy

  12. Rachel Says:

    I just spoke with your father and he shared with me this site. What a strong and inspirational family. God Bless you and your entire family. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. Rachel

  13. Emma Says:

    Praying 4 you…


Leave a Reply

