In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Next Steps: Surgery, Gamma Knife, & Chemo November 10, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 6:29 PM

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.” (Psalm‬ ‭55:22‬)

I am so thankful for this promise from the Lord. We can cast our cares on Him and He will sustain us! Curious as to the exact definition of sustain, I looked in the dictionary and found these synonyms: comfort, help, assist, encourage, succor, support, give strength to, buoy up, carry, cheer up, hearten. Wow! What a list! I am so thankful that God is the one who is sustaining me through this cancer journey. Thank you all who are praying for the Lord to sustain us right now! Your prayers mean so much to us!

We now have the schedule laid out before us of the next steps in our journey. We wanted to share them with you so you can be in prayer each step of the way.

First, tomorrow morning I go in to have a Pleurex Catheter surgically placed to drain fluid off my left lung. I already have one on the right side, so now I get a matching set! I had to go off of my blood thinners to have this surgery, so pray I don’t develop any clots during this time. My surgeon thinks he can do the surgery without completely putting me under, so I will hopefully be able to go home the same day and NOT have to spend the night in the hospital.

Secondly, next Thursday, I am scheduled to have another Gamma Knife procedure to kill the new cancer lesion that has shown up in my brain. We caught this one much earlier this time, so it is much smaller than the 2 tumors I had back in May. The neurosurgeon saw 2-3 more additional “suspicious” spots in my brain as well. So Thursday morning they will do a high-resolution MRI and make their plan of attack from those images. If you remember from my previous Gamma Knife, 192 beams of radiation are set to converge at the point where the cancer lesion is in my brain. This ensures the radiation is only effective on the cancer lesion and NOT the rest of my brain. They can then reposition the machine to target the next spot. So they can zap all the spots they find on Thursday!

Thirdly, I am scheduled to start my new chemo, Abraxane, the following Tuesday. This will be the week of Thanksgiving. So I will be laying low that week to see what the side effects of this new chemo will be for me.

Thank you again for your prayers as we continue on this cancer journey and trust in the Lord to sustain us through whatever comes into our path. Don’t forget to take your cares to the Lord, too, and trust Him to sustain you!

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.” (Psalm‬ ‭55:22‬)

 

One Response to “Next Steps: Surgery, Gamma Knife, & Chemo”

  1. Donna Bennett Says:

    Good morning dear Amy, I woke early this morning with you on my heart. As I was praying for you a song was playing in the back of my mind. I stopped praying and listen and the word came to me “Leaning leaning leaning on the everlasting arms. What a blessedness What a Joy is mine Leaning on the everlasting arms.” My dear sisterr in the Lord you have taught so many of us lessons of faith and steadfastness and a love for our all knowing God. Love you so much. Donna and Bob.


Leave a Reply

