In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

More Not Good News November 17, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:29 PM

We once again covet your prayers that we can continue to cast our burdens on the Lord. We look to Him to sustain us. (If your remember from my last update, sustain means to comfort, help, assist, encourage, succor, support, give strength to, buoy up, carry, cheer up, hearten.)

Today was my Gamma Knife procedure to treat my brain lesions. I had a high resolution brain MRI this morning for the neurosurgeon and radiation oncologist to use to plan my treatment. They were expecting 3-4 spots to treat from looking at my previous MRI 2 weeks ago. But today they found 18 spots! While we were shocked by this news, we take great comfort knowing that God was not surprised today. 

They went ahead and treated the 7 biggest spots in a nearly 2 hour procedure today. We will have to regroup and talk through the options to treat the remaining spots. Pray my doctors will have wisdom as they discuss further treatment options and for wisdom for us as we seek the Lord’s will for the next step.

In the mean time, I will continue with the plan and start my new chemo on Tuesday. Pray that this will be effective against the other cancer in my lungs, liver, and bones without causing severe side effects for me. I am already extremely fatigued from my previous treatments.

Thank you again for all your prayers and support! They truly sustain us during this difficult journey.

“Cast your burden upon the LORD, and He shall sustain thee” (Psalm 55:22)

 

9 Responses to “More Not Good News”

  1. Chris Brauns Says:

    Amy, your mom asked for prayer earlier today. I prayed for you on my knees thinking especially of Hebrews 4:14-16 – – I am so thankful that I can rush into the presence of our King on your behalf – – not because I am worthy – – but only because of Jesus. We rest in him.

  2. Jennel Clarke Says:

    Thank you God for sustaining Amy. Amy, you and your family are in my continued prayers. 💖 & (((hugs)))

  3. Judi Ogrady Says:

    Amy I am so sorry, will be praying continually for you. I haven’t experienced chemo but I have watched it destroy a young lady. We just don’t know what our God has in his plan for us, but we are expected to live our lives for him and to the fullest and best we can. And regardless we will believe in his love to see us through everything. May the loving hand of Jesus walk with you always.

  4. Kim Van Zyl Says:

    Praying for you and your family!

  5. I’m so sorry you have been given more burden Amy and family. Mark 11:24 says whatsoever things you desire, when you pray, believe that ye receive them and ye shall have them!! That’s a really powerful promise from God, one that I’ve rested on for the salvation of my dear brother who passed away two years ago, but because of that promise, I believe with all my heart that God saved his soul. Lets all pray that God will bring you through this, and BELIEVE it! Love to you and to your family,.

  6. Sherry VanHooser Says:

    Amy, we continue to pray for The grace of our Savior to strengthen and sustain you all. 2 Corinthians 12:9

  7. Rhonda Martin Says:

    We pray that God’s love and healing touch is on you now.

  8. brenda cupps Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Amy!
    You are in our thoughts and prayers.

  9. bancygitonga Says:

    I’m so sorry for what you are going through. I’m praying for you Amy. May God give you the strength to face this difficult path.


Leave a Reply

