In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

The Time to Part Ways has Come Now: Hospice Care November 29, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 10:31 PM

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:13)

This is the hardest decision we have had to make on this cancer journey. When do we part ways for now? What is God’s will for us right now? There are so many factors that have converged at this point for Eric and I, our precious family and way beyond us. If you are reading this, we are all in this journey together in some way. So this decision will affect so many of you precious, dear friends in some profoundly significant ways too.

We have made the choice for me to begin hospice care at this time. God has once again given His peace that passes all understanding in this decision for us. My quality of life in the time I have left is more important to our family than the length of time I have left. We want to enjoy beautiful times together with family and friends!

What exactly does this mean? I will discontinue my chemotherapy and further brain radiation treatments going forward. These treatments are currently significantly deteriorating my quality of life. My care will change to making my time most beneficial and focusing on the best possible quality time with my family and friends in the time I do have left. A hospice nurse will now visit our home once a week to make sure we have everything we need.

It is fitting that God brought me to the truths of the book of Philippians to begin this cancer journey almost 6 years ago, and I can still hold to those promises and encouragements today! God’s Words are always true and never-changing! The words of Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength,” applies just as much to me today as when I claimed them as my life verse in college, as when I claimed them for my cancer journey, as when Paul wrote the words to the New Testament believers in Philippi!

Love for You All
And God gave me all of you to go on this journey with me, to love and support me and my family all along the way. I have told you before, but what Philippians 1 says about you I still claim and pray for you with all my heart:
“I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. It is right for me to feel this way about all of you, since I have you in my heart and, whether I am in chains or defending and confirming the gospel, all of you share in Godʼs grace with me. God can testify how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.” (Philippians‬ ‭1:3-11‬)
We love you all, with all our hearts!

Parting for Now
So we reach the time to part ways for a little while. We can all rejoice in the hope we have through our faith in Christ though! Paul goes on in Philippians 1 to remind us of this precious hope we can cling to in this time:
“And because of this I rejoice. Yes, and I will continue to rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and Godʼs provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ what has happened to me will turn out for my deliverance. I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” (‭‭Philippians‬ ‭1:18-21‬)

How is dying gain, you may ask? Leaving all of you is the hardest thing I will have to do. But I will be face to face with my precious Savior at last! I will have gained heaven and my perfect, eternal life with Jesus forever and ever. I just get to go there a little sooner than all of you. 🙂

I have to say once again: if you have not accepted Jesus as your own Savior, please don’t put off this decision another second! A-admit that you are a sinner and need Jesus to save you from your sins. B-believe Jesus loves you and died on the cross for your sins. And C-call out to God today to save you! If you do this, you can know for sure you will be with Jesus in heaven when you die! You too can claim this promise from Philippians 1:21, “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.”

Thank you all for your continued prayers, love, and support on this journey. We can’t thank you enough for all you do for us from near and far!

 

27 Responses to “The Time to Part Ways has Come Now: Hospice Care”

  1. Joshua Huang Says:

    This was really hard for me to read. I have been praying and I will continue to. I miss the whole family.

  2. Marie Winters Says:

    Will continue to pray for you and your family and loved ones. May the time you have on this earth be full of peace and love, and may you make lasting memories for all who will wait their turn to join you. Praying that when the time comes for you to meet our Savior you will do so peacefully. Cherish Every Moment. Love and prayers, Marie

  3. Randy Hoy Says:

    I have been reading your messages for over two years now. I was acquainted to you through your mother who hired me a couple times to shoe her horse here in Ankeny. At that appointment I prayed with her not knowing your story. I am a believer, and I have delivered the gospel in my travels for over 19 years to many clients that will listen. Some times I’m very bold in my delivery and others I’m just waiting for an opportunity. You have inspired me with your strength in this when it looked hopeless, and you always saw the good in the worse of times. I have a different outlook now and when I’m prompted by the holy spirt in my travels I don’ hesitate any more because it is about life and death. The enemy comes to steal, kill and destroy….Not on my watch….Prayers…………

  4. Nikki Pope Says:

    We love you guys! Know you both have always been an encouragement to Jacob and I. We continue to pray for you all and wish you all continued strength and peace.

  5. Carla Lockridge Says:

    So sorry to hear this – we have been praying for you and your family throughout this journey – praying for complete healing! God seems to be answering this prayer but not in the way we had hoped. We are so glad that God allowed our lives to cross so long ago in Bennington – we will continue to pray for God to give you His peace and strength. Thanks you so much for always encouraging us in the Lord with your posts – now we pray for God to encourage you in very special ways in this time with your family and friends!

  6. Sheri Glorvick Says:

    Love and prayers for you and your family!

  7. McCormick Family Says:

    Like Joshua, it was very hard to read. We will continue to pray for you and the family and that you keep knowing gods peace during this time. Your blog has been a history of highs and lows yet faith still runs deeply thru your posts. It has taught me at least that my trials and tribulations I need to leave with god and I can do all things thru him. We love you guys and will lift you up daily in prayer.

  8. Praying for your family. I forget how I first stumbled across your blog months and months ago but have been praying for you from over here in England ever since. God bless you. Paul

  9. Jennel Clarke Says:

    Oh dear Amy and family, my ❤ and prayers go out to you all in this chapter of your earthly life. I truly thank God for getting to know you back in the Slater church days in the nursery. You are a true pillar of faithful loving strength. You are and will continue to be an AMAZING and dedicated daughter of Christ that lives empowering others to their soul. Thank you for continuing to live and love others wholistically. My Christmas prayer for you is that you continue receieving his resonating peace and agape love through him and all those you hold in your thoughts and ❤.

  10. Judi Ogrady Says:

    Oh Amy my heart aches for all your immediate & extended family. You are receiving God greatest gift eternal life. The joy you feel can only be described by you. The greatest gift you can give your loved ones is to verbalize this last part of your life. Brooke spoke so often of her visions and what she was experiencing it was the greatest gift she left me with. One being that dying is part of living. Her wisdom and strength carried me and continues to. My walk through her journey was a blessing I had with her that is unexplainable and I cherish it. By sharing it gives you the eternal hope that Jesus gave us in his Passion. Jesus is honoring you the the greatest perfect love that we all pray for each day. My prayer for you is your final journey will be without enormous pain. But our priest told Brooksey it’s hard to be born and hard to die. I thought is was s fitting a way to explain the pain. If birth and death but both are the best experiences we are given. In Jesus name I pray. Amen🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏

  11. Diane R Says:

    Our church (Good Shepherd) has continued steadfast in prayer for you and your family all through your journey and we will continue to do so!

  12. Gail Says:

    Dear Amy, May God be your strength, peace and comforter as you continue to shine God’s light through all of this. I look forward to seeing you in Heaven.

  13. Nicki Says:

    Praying for you all!

  14. Megan Says:

    “In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” – Abraham Lincoln
    Glad to hear you are at peace with your decision.

  15. Selena Says:

    You both were such a huge blessing to me during my time at Faith. I enjoyed every chance I got to come and be a small part of your ministry. I am praying for you!

  16. Robert L Schultz Says:

    Amy,
    As someone has already mentioned, we have prayed for God to heal you of that dread disease, cancer. He has chosen to heal you and to bring you to Himself. While we rejoice in your upcoming healing, we grieve in that it will be a while before we can rejoice with you in person about that complete healing. Our prayers now are for you to be as comfortable as possible, with a clear mind to enjoy this time with your family and for Eric and your children to be strengthened by God’s Spirit as they spend these precious days with you. Be assured of our love for you and for our prayers for you and your family. Also, be assured of the fact that we will one day be able to praise our precious Lord together face to face! What a glorious experience that will be!

    Bob and Liz Schultz
    Polk City, Iowa

  17. Ginger McGurk Says:

    Amy, I want you to know that it has been one of the greatest pleasures in my life getting to know you! You are a lovely, warm and caring girl who has been an inspiration to all who know you. You go to God knowing that you have inspired and loved many who are so much better people for having known you. I shall miss you deeply! Hugs and Christmas Blessings to you and your family!

  18. Amy, I arrived at your blog through Darla Parker’s Facebook post. I am a pastor at Crest Baptist Church in Creston and just wanted you to know that you and your family are being prayed for in these days. Your post moved me to tears of sadness and joy. There is always some sadness in parting ways, but the joy for the believer is the certainty that our paths will converge again. My prayer is that your life and testimony will help others get on the right path, though it be narrow (Matthew 7:13-14), so that they may have the hope you have when they face this inevitable transition. May you and your family experience God’s grace in the days you share together and the certain hope of the reunion when divergent paths converge for all eternity.

  19. Melissa Hohndorf Says:

    Amy, words cannot describe what a blessing you have been with all of your blogs. I admire you so very much. You have been heavy on my heart so much and in my prayers. Praying for God’s grace for you on this journey. Praying also for your family. God Bless! ❤ (((((HUGS)))))

  20. Regina Meradith Says:

    Amy, you are such an inspiration and positive light in this world! The world simply needs more Amys. I hope for peace and strength for you to hold your sweet family tight. Sending lots of love, hugs and prayers your way.

  21. Malea Says:

    Prayers to you and your family. We have missed seeing the Wilmeth family around Bennington. Merry Christmas to you!

  22. JF Cohen Says:

    I have been following your story since it was on the news in Omaha and hoped for better news each time. What an incredible example you have been for your friends and family. I don’t think I have ever heard you complain once via your updates. Your children have an amazing example for a mother. you have grace, kindness and dignity. What a strong person. Praying for you and your family.

  23. Ken & Joyce Miller Says:

    Amy, Our hearts go out to you and Eric. You have been such an inspiration with your up-beat reports. We trust you will have some wonderful times together with your family and friends. We look forward to seeing you again in heaven. We have been praying for you at home and at our church. God bless. Ken & Joyce Miller, BCP Apollos, Hamlin, NY

  24. Tom Papich Says:

    You are in my prayers. May you continue to find strength and comfort from the love from your family, friends and Jesus Christ. God bless!

  25. Rae Ann Says:

    Amy you are such an inspiration to me and I’m sure to everyone who has come into contact with you. Oh to have your strength and conviction! May God bless you and your family with His precious peace and love through this journey you’re on. Your children have a wonderful example to follow! We love you so much, and will continue to pray for you, and especially for your family as you move on to be with our Lord and Savior.

  26. JF Cohen Says:

    Even though we haven’t met I think about you and your family after hearing your story on the news.. Its none of my business but I just read this story about Valerie Harper I thought well. It might give you and your family some hope. Actress Valerie Harper was diagnosed with lung cancer in 2009, which metastasized to her brain, but she’s still going strong at age 76. So I will keep you in my thoughts and hope for the very best for you and your family.

  27. karen Says:

    Dear Amy and family,
    The time you have had on Earth is an absolute Gift! You can celebrate the joys of your relationship with Christ and I am always inspired by your strength and Love. Merry Christmas to you and your family. We are praying for you at Gretna Baptist to have an amazing Christmas Season. Blessings & Comfort are sent your way!

    Karen Jennings


Leave a Reply

