In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Finding Joy in the Little Things May 27, 2017

Filed under: Eric + Kids Update — ewilmeth @ 11:56 AM

Proverbs 17:22 – A joyful heart is good medicine,
but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Philippians 4:4 – Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.

Wilmeth Kids 2017

 

I am so thankful for my children. Kids have an unbelievable ability to go from one end of the emotions spectrum to the other in a blink of an eye. Sometimes this is a bad thing, but in recent days it has often been a blessing as a normal ho-hum day is turned into a joy-filled time together as something happens and we burst out in laughter together. Proverbs 17:22 is so true, “a joyful heart is good medicine”.

 

On several recent occasions the kids and I have been laughing together so exuberantly that our eyes water. In each of these occasions I have immediately had an additional smile in my spirit as I remember Amy laughing and smiling right along with our kids. She loved to laugh, have fun, smile, and be joyful in laughter.  Her joy was good medicine for my soul; the remembrance of her joy IS good medicine for my soul. I can hear her laugh in my kids’ laughter, I can see her smile in their faces. This makes my heart joyful.

 

As thankful as I am for my kids and the joy God continual provides through them, I am exponentially more thankful for my Savior, Jesus. My kids help lift up my spirit in a moment. Wonderful memories of Amy’s smile, laughter, and joy hold up my spirit, but the life giving love that Jesus shows for me sustains my spirit both today and forever. In John 15 Jesus gives an example of a grapevine and how we must abide with Him.  He ends the metaphor by saying, “These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.” (verse 11)

 

We can have joy in life but in order for that joy to be truly full, we need Jesus. If the Lord had not been building me and giving me the strength to rejoice in Him always, these moments of laughter and joy with my kids would have been spirit crushing remembrances of what we don’t have. Instead, because of God’s mercy, grace, and His joy they are celebrations of Jesus’ joy in us and a reminder that since Amy died on this earth knowing Jesus as her personal Savior, her home-going was not a goodbye but rather a see you later. Do you know Jesus? His joy and His love? Seek Him and you can know Him and His goodness.

 


 

Family Update:

The kids are quickly approaching summer break. Their last day of school is June 8th. Many have asked how we’ll handle kids out of school and me still needing to work in the office (and some have wondered what I’ve been doing with Asher while I work). Faith is 14 and very capable to keep an eye on things at home with an adult available via a quick phone call. Things go smoothly as long as her brothers agree to cooperate. They tell me they will. 🙂

 

Asher usually goes to the office with me. On Wednesday he spends the day with Becky Little (President Little’s wife) as I typically have meetings. The rest of the week he is able to just hang out with me in my office and play on the floor or watch shows on my second monitor. An amazon prime membership has come in handy so that he can watch Thomas, Dinosaur Train, and Backyardigans (a few of his favorites). The other folks in the office are very gracious to him and me as they help keep an occasional eye on him and let him help in some of the tasks of the office too. I don’t know if he quite earns his keep yet, but we are getting there.

 

Thank you so much for continuing to pray for and support us. May could have been (and at times has been) a pretty hard month. With Mother’s day and Amy’s birthday, and the fact that today has now been 20 weeks, we’ve been through lots of firsts and times that can be rough. God has been faithful and provided wonderfully for us through many of you. On Amy’s birthday I was overwhelmed by the many messages and texts reminding me of your love and prayers for us. That day, which could have been unbearably hard, was in fact a great day of joy and blessing. Thank you!

 

Isaiah 41:13

For I, the Lord your God,
hold your right hand;
it is I who say to you, “Fear not,
I am the one who helps you.”

 

One Response to “Finding Joy in the Little Things”

  1. armat1 Says:

    Dear Eric and Loved Ones,

    Thank you for sharing news about you and your family. It’s so good to see all of you, and to see how the children are changing. I think about you and coming to your home each time I drive on Sheffield, as that is the route I used to come your way.

    May God continue to give you strength each day. He does and He will, as you think about, and miss Amy.

    Thank you for your words. I’m thankful to hear from you and learn about your loved ones.

    In His Name, Marilyn Walz

    On Sat, May 27, 2017 at 11:56 AM, In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer wrote:

    > ewilmeth posted: “Proverbs 17:22 – A joyful heart is good medicine, but a > crushed spirit dries up the bones. Philippians 4:4 – Rejoice in the Lord > always; again I will say, rejoice. I am so thankful for my children. Kids > have an unbelievable ability to go from o” >


Leave a Reply

