In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Overwhelmed by God September 20, 2017

Filed under: Eric + Kids Update — ewilmeth @ 8:39 PM

When is the last time you were overwhelmed? When you think on that question does your mind go toward a pleasant memory or hard time in life? Most of us tend toward the harder moments when we think about being overwhelmed. It is easy to find ourselves with too much to do, too much to think about, too much to worry about, and too many what ifs to consider.

psalm-139.jpgPsalm 139 gives us an overwhelming thought (many of them actually) as it considers who God is, what He knows, and where He is. As we try to consider these thoughts, we should quickly become overwhelmed with the awesomeness of God. He knows each of us completely and wholly, every day of our lives, from before we were formed in the womb till the moment our life ends and we are face-to-face with our Creator. He knows each step we will take, and He is always there. Before we have a word to say, He knows our heart and our intent. Verse three tells us He is “intimately acquainted with all my ways.” He doesn’t just know about you and me, He knows us better than we know ourselves. He knows us and He goes with us. In our deepest valley or our highest peak, He is there with us. When we are overwhelmed by fear, doubt, worry, grief, joy, happiness, peace, or praise, He is there with us.

God not only knows us, He also is a wonderful provider and knows what we need. We can trust Him to be our provider; He will supply wonderfully. When we moved to Ohio, we left behind much of God’s wonderful provision but trusted that just as He had provided there, He would once again provide in our new surroundings. If you have been a reader of this blog, you know well how God has provided here. Church, friends, and community have all been raised up by the Lord to provide support for our physical, emotional, and spiritual needs. In God’s provisions I am overwhelmed! His goodness, love, grace, and mercy know no bounds. He has abundantly provided above anything I could have known.

Family Update:

First Day of School 2017

First Day of School – Sept. 5, 2017

Faith is in ninth grade and loving it. She is as strong and confident as ever and seeks to be a friend to all. I am proud of her for several reasons, but one in particular is how she stands up for others when they cannot stand for themselves. She is participating in marching band and enjoying every moment of it. She will also be able to enroll in college level English courses later this school year. She hopes to be a published author one day.

Adam is in fifth grade this year and has moved up to the middle school. He continues to be a natural leader among his classmates, and he is a very bright boy. He was able to join band this year and has begun to learn percussion. He really enjoys figuring out how things work and making plans to make new things to solve problems. He has begun working in the sound booth at church most Sundays.

Ethan is in fourth grade, and he is a natural student. He loves school and tends to be top of his class in most things academic. Last year he moved up a year in math class and that continues this year, so he is a fourth grader in the fifth grade math class. He and Adam are actually in the same math period together. God has gifted Ethan with a brain that just gets things. It is amazing to watch him process through homework; he still has areas he has to work a little more at, but he is very diligent to strive forward.

Asher is four and comes to the office with me most days. He will start kindergarten next fall and until then he will continue to hang out with me. His smile continues to be infectious, and he is a source of great joy to everyone he meets. He loves to do all the normal four-year-old things, has an imagination that I pray never fades, and likes to make others laugh. It is amazing to reflect on what God has done over Asher’s short life. He is worthy of praise!

Boys at the Football Game

Boys at the Football Game to watch Faith march.

Each of the kids are doing amazingly well. It has only been a little more than 8 months since their momma went to be with the Lord. They each miss her greatly yet rejoice in the confidence that we will meet again in heaven one day. Amy had given each of the kids a teddy bear for Christmas last year. She told them it was their “Momma Bear” and that when they were missing her they could hug the bear and remember that God always loves them and that she does, too. The kids have their bears in their beds, and every now and then I’ll find one of them squeezing their momma bear, and I have the privilege of coming alongside them, giving a hug, and remembering together the great love God has for us.

 

God is consistently and constantly providing perfect aid for me exactly when I have need of it most! He has always been moving and preparing the provisions long before I realize I need them, and I am so thankful for His sovereignty and plan. Amy and I had talked about what would be next for me in life once she was Home with the Lord. She wanted me to accept whatever the Lord provided and to trust His leading for when the time was right to meet someone new and step forward in His will. Entering into a relationship with someone new was something I knew would come at some point (I am not built for singleness), and I have been praying for wisdom for that next step in my life. Amy and I were completely confident that God would provide abundantly above and beyond whatever we could even imagine, and I had joked with her that since it had been so long since I had dated or started a new relationship that it would only be possible by a miracle of God!

Along with praying for wisdom I have been praying for the next person the Lord would have for me, and I know some of you have been praying for her, too. A few months ago I mentioned to some new church family friends about these prayer requests, and I was quickly told by one of them that they had someone to introduce me to when I was ready. Apparently, she had been waiting to introduce me for some time but was politely waiting (thanks to her husband’s prompting) for me to say something. So after some more intensified prayer, I decided to forge ahead, sensing the Lord’s peace and knowing Amy wanted me to move forward. So I was introduced to Jacy Hobbs who had just moved to Northeast Ohio a couple months prior to our meeting. We began getting to know each other on the phone and agreed that we would take some time to get to know each other, and if we were still chatting in a month, we would meet in person. That first call was a Sunday night, by Tuesday night we decided we did not want to wait that long to meet. It is amazing to see how God has been at work in her life and mine from the time before we were being formed in the womb to today to be each other’s answer to prayer. God is a gracious provider!

Jacy and I have been getting to know each other for a few months now, and God draws us closer together each day. The kids are really enjoying getting to know her, and she isEric and Jacy wonderful with them. She has already been a help and an agent of God’s healing to me, and I am blessed to know her. Through various circumstances, His Word, and the wise Godly counsel of people we trust, God has confirmed His will in our lives to be together. God is still about the business of providing miracles.

As I think on the things I have been praying for and consider how wonderfully overwhelmingly awesome The Lord God is, I can’t help but be in awe. We often limit God because of our limited view of Him. If we would allow ourselves to be overwhelmed by His true greatness, our lives would be transformed. Our prayers would be expanded and specific, and our love for Him and each other would be limitless.

Thank you for continuing to pray for me and my family (and Jacy, too). We covet your prayers and trust you will be in awe of our great God along with us.

 

3 Responses to “Overwhelmed by God”

  1. Judi Ogrady Says:

    Congratulations Eric, I am so happy for you and your children. Yes God work miracles each and every day some are huge some are just to see us through. I so enjoy it when I realize I really had nothing to do with the outcome it was God all the time. Silly me. But oh such a confirming feeling that you can just feel that he is always there with you in the good and the bad. Love to you all, Judi

  2. Mauricsa Says:

    I am so glad to hear all your news. Every day is a gift from God and everyone brought into our lives can teach us something and help us on our journey. I’m happy you have found someone to help you on your journey. Hugs Mauricsa

  3. Rhonda Martin Says:

    Thanks for the update and photos. We miss you all at Heritage Elementary.


Leave a Reply

